Monday, October 26, 2026 · Edition updated 6:00 AM ETMON, OCT 26 editionNext edition in Next in --:--:--
Intelligence Verdict
Compare AI models

Claude Mythos 5.1 vs gpt-oss-120b

Anthropic's Claude Mythos 5.1 and OpenAI's gpt-oss-120b, side by side: what each costs, how much it can read at once, whether you can run it yourself, and where independent tests place it.

  • —no price to compare
  • Not statedcontext window, both
  • 0–0higher placings on boards ranking both
In short

How they differ.

Worked out from the figures below. Prices and specs are the makers' own, read Oct 20, 2026.

  • gpt-oss-120b can be downloaded and run on your own machine; Claude Mythos 5.1 can't.
  • No independent board we follow ranks both models yet.
Side by side

The specs.

Claude Mythos 5.1gpt-oss-120b
Made byAnthropic · USOpenAI · US
ReleasedSep 1, 2026Aug 5, 2025
Price per 1M tokensNo public priceFree to download; hosts set prices
Context windowNot stated128K
Takes inNot statedtext
Download and run it yourselfNoYes (Apache 2.0)
SizeNot published117B parameters, 5.1B active
Maker says“Our most capable model for cybersecurity and biology research.”“production, general purpose, high reasoning use cases”
SourcesPrices, Oct 20, 2026 · DescriptionPrices, Oct 20, 2026 · Description
Independent tests

Where they place.

Position on each board we follow (1 is best). Epoch AI's and Vectara's scores are shown; the other boards are linked for their own figures.

BoardClaude Mythos 5.1gpt-oss-120b
Vectara hallucination testVectara, Oct 16, 2026Not listed#9214.2%