Tuesday, October 27, 2026 · Edition updated 6:00 AM ETTUE, OCT 27 editionNext edition in Next in --:--:--
Intelligence Verdict
AI startups · Chips and AI computers

Etched

“Etched builds frontier inference clusters designed to make AI inference dramatically faster, cheaper, and more abundant.” Etched, company-reported

  • $21Bvaluation at its last closed round, Aug 18, 2026
  • —founding year not found
  • Has a product2 things shipped, by our search
The facts

Etched at a glance.

Read Oct 20, 2026. Valuations and amounts are copied as each source states them; a figure that is only reported (talks, or people familiar with the deal) is labeled as reported.

Kind of company
Chips and AI computersNew chips and systems built to run AI faster or cheaper.
Based in
Cupertino, California (per CNBC, 2024); its 2026 release is datelined San Jose, United States
Founded
Not found in our sourcesCNBC, Jun 25, 2024
Last closed-round valuation
$21B$21B (Etched press release (GlobeNewswire), Aug 18, 2026)
What it has shipped
Has a product
Founders
  • Gavin Uberti: co-founder and CEO; Harvard dropout, ex-OctoML and ex-Xnor.ai (per TechCrunch) (TechCrunch, Jun 25, 2024)
  • Chris Zhu: co-founder; Harvard dropout (per TechCrunch) (TechCrunch, Jun 25, 2024)
  • Robert Wachen: co-founder and President (company page); Uberti's college roommate (per CNBC) (CNBC, Jun 25, 2024)
Latest news

Raised $700M at a $21B valuation led by Jane Street and said it shipped its first rack to Jane Street Aug 18, 2026

Etched, Aug 18, 2026

What it has built

Shipped, or not yet.

“Has a product” is what our search found: something the public can use or buy, a model or API, research only, or nothing public.

product · Jul 2026

First rack-scale inference system shipped to first customer Jane Street (July 2026, per Etched)

Source
product · Jun 25, 2024

Sohu, a transformer-only ASIC, announced (not shipped at the time)

Source
4 rounds

Funding, as reported.

Every round we found, with the amount, valuation and investors as the source states them.

WhenRoundAmountValuationInvestors namedSource
Jun 25, 2024Series A$120 millionNot statedPrimary Venture Partners (co-lead), Positive Sum Ventures (co-lead), Peter Thiel, Thomas Dohmke, Kyle Vogt, Charlie CheeverTechCrunch
Jan 13, 2026unnamed (reported)about $500 million$5 billionStripes (lead), Peter Thiel, Positive Sum, Ribbit CapitalBloomberg
Jul 23, 2026Series CUS$ 300 millionUS$ 10.3 billionSequoia (lead), a16z, Jane Street, Diffusion, SK HynixW.Media
Aug 18, 2026unnamed (company calls it new funding)$700M$21BJane Street (lead), Kleiner Perkins, Sequoia, Andreessen Horowitz, Tiger Global, Bain Capital Ventures, Neo, Primary, Stripes, Positive Sum, BlackstoneEtched press release (GlobeNewswire)
Outside checks

What others have found.

  • Jane Street, its first customer and lead investor, said: "We're excited to now have our own rack running in our data center." (customer statement in a company release, not an independent test) (Etched press release (GlobeNewswire), Aug 18, 2026)

Our note: Founding year not stated on any fetched page: TechCrunch and CNBC (June 2024) called it two years old, which points to about 2022. Etched says it has 'secured more than $1B in customer contracts'; only Jane Street is named. The $5B round was reported by Bloomberg from people familiar. The Series C figures come from a trade site citing the company's release. The company homepage also mentions $800M raised across four financings, which does not match the $700M banner figure.