Monday, October 26, 2026 · Edition updated 6:00 AM ETMON, OCT 26 editionNext edition in Next in --:--:--
Intelligence Verdict
AI startups · New frontier labs

Safe Superintelligence

“We have started the world's first straight-shot SSI lab, with one goal and one product: a safe superintelligence.” Safe Superintelligence, company-reported

  • $5Bvaluation at its last closed round, Sep 4, 2024
  • $32Breported, not confirmed by the company, Apr 12, 2025
  • Nothing public foundby our search
The facts

Safe Superintelligence at a glance.

Read Oct 20, 2026. Valuations and amounts are copied as each source states them; a figure that is only reported (talks, or people familiar with the deal) is labeled as reported.

Kind of company
New frontier labsStart-ups building general AI models to rival the biggest labs.
Based in
Palo Alto and Tel Aviv, United States
Founded
2024Associated Press, Jun 20, 2024
Last closed-round valuation
$5B$5 billion (Reuters, citing a source familiar with the matter) (TechCrunch, Sep 4, 2024)
Reported valuation
Reported $32B, not confirmed by the company$32 billion (TechCrunch, citing the Financial Times, Apr 12, 2025)
What it has shipped
Nothing public foundWe searched and found no product, model or paper, which is not proof there is none.
Founders
  • Ilya Sutskever: OpenAI's former chief scientist; previously headed OpenAI's Superalignment team (TechCrunch, Sep 4, 2024)
  • Daniel Gross: co-founder; named as SSI CEO in 2024 (no further background given) (TechCrunch, Sep 4, 2024)
  • Daniel Levy: co-founder (no background given in source) (Associated Press, Jun 20, 2024)
Latest news

Nvidia to make a $5 billion equity investment, which also gives SSI access to Nvidia's Vera Rubin hardware. Jul 27, 2026

Reuters, Jul 28, 2026

What it has built

Shipped, or not yet.

“Nothing public found” is what our search found: something the public can use or buy, a model or API, research only, or nothing public.

We found no product, model or paper from Safe Superintelligence that the public can see. That is not proof there is none.

3 rounds

Funding, as reported.

Every round we found, with the amount, valuation and investors as the source states them.

WhenRoundAmountValuationInvestors namedSource
Sep 4, 2024Unnamedover $1 billion$5 billion (Reuters, citing a source familiar with the matter)NFDG, a16z, Sequoia, DST Global, SV AngelTechCrunch
Apr 12, 2025Unnamed (reported)$2 billion$32 billionGreenoaks (reported lead)TechCrunch, citing the Financial Times
Jul 27, 2026Strategic equity investment$5 billion (per a person briefed on the deal; companies did not disclose terms)Not statedNvidiaReuters
Our note

Worth knowing.

Our note: No product, model, API or paper found. Searched: ssi.inc (names no product), news searches for SSI releases in 2026. The $5B Nvidia figure is from one person briefed; the valuation at that deal was not reported in the pages fetched. Daniel Gross's current role was not checked.