In short
How they differ.
Worked out from the makers' own pages, read Oct 20, 2026. Prices change; check before you pay.
- Only ChatGPT Work and Browser has a free plan.
- ChatGPT Work and Browser's cheapest paid plan is cheaper: $20 a month against $200.
- ChatGPT Work and Browser also has a web; Comet also has a phone app.
Side by side
The details.
| ChatGPT Work and Browser | Comet | |
|---|---|---|
| Made by | OpenAI | Perplexity |
| What it says it is | “Browser lets ChatGPT open websites, gather current information, and take action while you stay in control.” | “Comet browser by Perplexity is the AI browser that acts as a personal assistant.” |
| Free plan | YesFree plan lists 'Limited ChatGPT Work access on desktop'; the pricing page shows no amounts. | Not statedThe Comet page we read did not state whether it is free. |
| Plans | Plus: $20 a monthPro: not in US$ | Max: $200 a month |
| Runs on | web, desktop app (macOS, Windows), browser extension (Chrome, Edge, Brave, Opera, Vivaldi) | macOS, Windows, iOS, Android |
| Latest update | Use the browser extension in more browsers, Aug 31, 2026 | — |
| Its terms | “Treat page content as untrusted context.”In its terms · ChatGPT Learn: Browser | “This allows attackers to embed indirect prompt injection payloads that the AI will execute as commands.”In its terms · Brave blog |
| Disputes | None on file | None on file |
| Sources | Prices, Oct 20, 2026 · Description · company-reported | Prices, Jun 18, 2026 · Description · company-reported |
More comparisons
