Monday, October 26, 2026 · Edition updated 6:00 AM ETMON, OCT 26 editionNext edition in Next in --:--:--
Intelligence Verdict
Compare AI models

GLM-5.3 vs MiniMax-M3

Z.ai (Zhipu AI)'s GLM-5.3 and MiniMax's MiniMax-M3, side by side: what each costs, how much it can read at once, whether you can run it yourself, and where independent tests place it.

  • MiniMax-M3cheaper per output token
  • 1Mcontext window, both
  • 0–0higher placings on boards ranking both
In short

How they differ.

Worked out from the figures below. Prices and specs are the makers' own, read Oct 20, 2026.

  • MiniMax-M3 is cheaper per output token: $1.20 against $4.40 per million tokens, so GLM-5.3 costs 3.7 times as much.
  • Both can be downloaded and run on your own machine.
  • No independent board we follow ranks both models yet.
Side by side

The specs.

GLM-5.3MiniMax-M3
Made byZ.ai (Zhipu AI) · ChinaMiniMax · China
ReleasedNot statedNot stated
Price per 1M tokens$1.40 in / $4.40 out$0.30 in / $1.20 out
Context window1M1M
Takes intexttext
Download and run it yourselfYes (glm-5.3 (license tag shown on Hugging Face))Yes (minimax-community (license tag shown on Hugging Face))
Size753B (Hugging Face safetensors size field) parameters~428B parameters, ~23B active
Maker says“GLM-5.3 is Z.ai's latest flagship model, delivering comprehensive advancements in complex software engineering”“MiniMax-M3 is a native multimodal model with 1M context.”
SourcesPrices, Oct 20, 2026 · DescriptionPrices, Oct 20, 2026 · Description
Independent tests

Where they place.

Position on each board we follow (1 is best). Epoch AI's and Vectara's scores are shown; the other boards are linked for their own figures.

BoardGLM-5.3MiniMax-M3
Epoch Capabilities IndexEpoch AI, Oct 20, 2026#30155.91Not listed
Humanity's Last ExamScale AI#15Not listed
SWE-Bench ProScale AI, Sep 22, 2026#9Not listed
Vals IndexVals AI, Oct 19, 2026#9Not listed
Terminal-Bench 4.0Vals AI, Oct 19, 2026#12Not listed
GPQA Diamond (run by Vals AI, archived)Vals AI, Sep 1, 2026Not listed#15