In short
How they differ.
Worked out from the makers' own pages, read Oct 20, 2026. Prices change; check before you pay.
- Apple Live Captions also has a phone app.
Side by side
The details.
| Apple Live Captions | MacWhisper | |
|---|---|---|
| Made by | Apple | MacWhisper developer (Gumroad seller 'goodsnooze') |
| What it says it is | “By default, Live Captions transcribes audio from all apps.” | “Quickly and easily transcribe audio files into text with OpenAI's state-of-the-art transcription technology Whisper, Qwen as well as Nvidia Parakeet.” |
| Free plan | Not statedBuilt in; on Mac 'available only on Mac computers with Apple silicon' when the system language is English (U.S.) or English (Canada) (macOS 15 guide). | Not stated |
| Plans | Not shown | Not shown |
| Runs on | macOS (Apple silicon), iPhone (FaceTime) | macOS |
| Latest update | — | — |
| Its terms | “The accuracy of Live Captions may vary and should not be relied upon in high-risk or emergency situations.”In its terms · Mac User Guide | “But Whisper has a major flaw: It is prone to making up chunks of text or even entire sentences,”In its terms · Associated Press |
| Disputes | None on file | None on file |
| Sources | · Description · company-reported | · Description · company-reported |
More comparisons
