Monday, October 26, 2026 · Edition updated 6:00 AM ETMON, OCT 26 editionNext edition in Next in --:--:--
Intelligence Verdict
AI tools · Dubbing, transcription and captions

Apple Live Captions

“By default, Live Captions transcribes audio from all apps.” Apple, in its own words

  • Not statedfree plan
  • —paid price not shown in US dollars
  • 2places it runs: phone app, computer app
The facts

Apple Live Captions at a glance.

From Apple's own pages, read Oct 20, 2026. Prices can change at any time; check the maker's page before you pay.

Made by
Apple
What it is for
Dubbing, transcription and captionsTranscripts, captions and dubbed video.
Free plan
Not statedBuilt in; on Mac 'available only on Mac computers with Apple silicon' when the system language is English (U.S.) or English (Canada) (macOS 15 guide).
Runs on
macOS (Apple silicon), iPhone (FaceTime)
Plans and prices

Apple doesn't show its prices in a form we could read. Check its website.

Read the small print

What its terms say.

Copied word for word from the maker's terms, with any lawsuits or complaints and their status when we last checked.

In its terms
“The accuracy of Live Captions may vary and should not be relied upon in high-risk or emergency situations.”
Mac User Guide (macOS 15): Live Captions, Oct 20, 2026

Our note: From the macOS 15 version of the guide; newer macOS versions may support more languages.

Independent evidence

What tests of tools like this have found.

Associated Press
“But Whisper has a major flaw: It is prone to making up chunks of text or even entire sentences,”

AP via ABC News, Oct 26, 2024

Rev
“AI transcription is included with every subscription and returns a 96%+ accurate transcript in minutes.”

Rev homepage FAQ, Oct 20, 2026