In short
How they differ.
Worked out from the makers' own pages, read Oct 20, 2026. Prices change; check before you pay.
- Google Translate also has a web.
- Google Translate shipped an update more recently (Jun 9, 2026).
Side by side
The details.
| Apple Live Translation | Google Translate | |
|---|---|---|
| Made by | Apple | |
| What it says it is | “you can use Live Translation with AirPods to hear what they're saying translated into your preferred language.” | “Learn how to translate text, speech, images, documents, websites, and more with Google Translate.” |
| Free plan | Not statedNeeds AirPods 4 (ANC), AirPods Pro 2/3 or similar, plus an Apple Intelligence-enabled iPhone 15 Pro or iPhone 16 or later; no separate price is stated. | Not statedThe About page doesn't mention pricing. |
| Plans | Not shown | Not shown |
| Runs on | iPhone with Apple Intelligence + supported AirPods | web, Android, iOS |
| Latest update | Live Translation on AirPods expands to the EU, Nov 4, 2025 | Fluid, natural voice translation with Gemini 3.5 Live Translate, Jun 9, 2026 |
| Its terms | “Apple Intelligence isn't available in all languages or regions. Usage limits may apply.”In its terms · Apple Support: Translate in-person conversations with AirPods | “intended to replace human translators”In its terms · ProPublica |
| Disputes | None on file | None on file |
| Sources | · Description · company-reported | · Description · company-reported |
More comparisons
