Monday, October 26, 2026 · Edition updated 6:00 AM ETMON, OCT 26 editionNext edition in Next in --:--:--
Intelligence Verdict
AI tools · Translation

Apple Live Translation

“you can use Live Translation with AirPods to hear what they're saying translated into your preferred language.” Apple, in its own words

  • Not statedfree plan
  • —paid price not shown in US dollars
  • 1place it runs: phone app
The facts

Apple Live Translation at a glance.

From Apple's own pages, read Oct 20, 2026. Prices can change at any time; check the maker's page before you pay.

Made by
Apple
What it is for
TranslationText, speech and conversation in other languages.
Free plan
Not statedNeeds AirPods 4 (ANC), AirPods Pro 2/3 or similar, plus an Apple Intelligence-enabled iPhone 15 Pro or iPhone 16 or later; no separate price is stated.
Runs on
iPhone with Apple Intelligence + supported AirPods
Plans and prices

Apple doesn't show its prices in a form we could read. Check its website.

Read the small print

What its terms say.

Copied word for word from the maker's terms, with any lawsuits or complaints and their status when we last checked.

In its terms
“Apple Intelligence isn't available in all languages or regions. Usage limits may apply.”
Apple Support: Translate in-person conversations with AirPods, Oct 20, 2026

Our note: Languages per the Newsroom: 'English, French, German, Portuguese, Spanish, Italian, Chinese (Simplified and Traditional Mandarin), Japanese, and Korean'.

Independent evidence

What tests of tools like this have found.

Khoong et al., JAMA Internal Medicine 2019;179(4):580-582
“The majority of instructions were correctly translated (92% correct in Spanish, 81% correct in Chinese)”

AHRQ PSNet summary, Apr 8, 2019

Google
“near real-time speech-to-speech translation in over 70 languages”

Google blog, Jun 9, 2026