In short
How they differ.
Worked out from the makers' own pages, read Oct 20, 2026. Prices change; check before you pay.
- Microsoft Translator also has a computer app.
Side by side
The details.
| Apple Live Translation | Microsoft Translator | |
|---|---|---|
| Made by | Apple | Microsoft |
| What it says it is | “you can use Live Translation with AirPods to hear what they're saying translated into your preferred language.” | “Breaking the language barrier at home, at work, anywhere you need it” |
| Free plan | Not statedNeeds AirPods 4 (ANC), AirPods Pro 2/3 or similar, plus an Apple Intelligence-enabled iPhone 15 Pro or iPhone 16 or later; no separate price is stated. | Not statedThe page doesn't state whether the consumer app is free. |
| Plans | Not shown | Not shown |
| Runs on | iPhone with Apple Intelligence + supported AirPods | Windows, iOS, Android |
| Latest update | Live Translation on AirPods expands to the EU, Nov 4, 2025 | — |
| Its terms | “Apple Intelligence isn't available in all languages or regions. Usage limits may apply.”In its terms · Apple Support: Translate in-person conversations with AirPods | — |
| Disputes | None on file | None on file |
| Sources | · Description · company-reported | · Description · company-reported |
More comparisons
