In short
How they differ.
Worked out from the makers' own pages, read Oct 20, 2026. Prices change; check before you pay.
- Only ChatGPT has a free plan.
- ChatGPT also has a phone app and computer app.
- DeepSeek shipped an update more recently (Oct 17, 2026).
Side by side
The details.
| ChatGPT | DeepSeek | |
|---|---|---|
| Made by | OpenAI · United States | DeepSeek · China |
| What it says it is | “Try ChatGPT Plus and unlock advanced intelligence that goes beyond answering questions to get things done for you.” | “Now live on our website, app, and API.” |
| Free plan | YesFree: "Unlimited text chats with GPT-6"; "Limited messages with uploads", "Limited image creation", "Limited deep research", "Limited memory and context". | Not statedNot verified: DeepSeek pages read did not state whether the chat app is free or list consumer prices. |
| Plans | Free: freeGo: $8 a monthPlus: $20 a monthPro: $100 a monthBusiness: $25 a month | Not shown |
| Runs on | web, desktop, mobile | web, app, API |
| Latest update | Create and collaborate on slides in ChatGPT, Oct 16, 2026 | DeepSeek-V4.1-Flash-1017: Wish-Driven Programming Made Real, Oct 17, 2026 |
| Its terms | “When you use our services for individuals (Free, Plus, Pro), we may use your content to train our models.”What it does with your data · OpenAI Help Center: How your data is used to improve model performance | “To improve and develop the Services and to train and improve our technology, such as our machine learning models and algorithms.”What it does with your data · DeepSeek Privacy Policy |
| Disputes | None on file | None on file |
| Sources | Prices, Oct 20, 2026 · Description · company-reported | Prices, Oct 20, 2026 · Description · company-reported |
More comparisons
