In short
How they differ.
Worked out from the makers' own pages, read Oct 20, 2026. Prices change; check before you pay.
- Only Claude has a free plan.
- Claude also has a phone app and computer app.
- DeepSeek shipped an update more recently (Oct 17, 2026).
Side by side
The details.
| Claude | DeepSeek | |
|---|---|---|
| Made by | Anthropic · United States | DeepSeek · China |
| What it says it is | “Search the web, create files, and run code” | “Now live on our website, app, and API.” |
| Free plan | YesUsage limits apply; no Research, Claude Code or Opus models on Free; Projects "Up to 5". | Not statedNot verified: DeepSeek pages read did not state whether the chat app is free or list consumer prices. |
| Plans | Free: freePro: $20 a monthMax 5x: $100 a monthTeam (standard seat): $25 a month | Not shown |
| Runs on | web, desktop, iOS, Android | web, app, API |
| Latest update | Introducing Claude Haiku 5.5, Oct 7, 2026 | DeepSeek-V4.1-Flash-1017: Wish-Driven Programming Made Real, Oct 17, 2026 |
| Its terms | “We may use your chats or coding sessions to improve our models, if:”What it does with your data · Anthropic Privacy Center: How do you use personal data in model training? | “To improve and develop the Services and to train and improve our technology, such as our machine learning models and algorithms.”What it does with your data · DeepSeek Privacy Policy |
| Disputes | None on file | None on file |
| Sources | Prices, Oct 20, 2026 · Description · company-reported | Prices, Oct 20, 2026 · Description · company-reported |
More comparisons
