In short
How they differ.
Worked out from the makers' own pages, read Oct 20, 2026. Prices change; check before you pay.
- Only Doubao has a free plan.
- DeepSeek also has a web.
- DeepSeek shipped an update more recently (Oct 17, 2026).
Side by side
The details.
| DeepSeek | Doubao | |
|---|---|---|
| Made by | DeepSeek · China | ByteDance · China |
| What it says it is | “Now live on our website, app, and API.” | “While Doubao's basic version will remain free to meet users' simple needs” |
| Free plan | Not statedNot verified: DeepSeek pages read did not state whether the chat app is free or list consumer prices. | YesAFP (2026-06-25): "Free users will be able to use basic search functions, but face limits in video and image generation." |
| Plans | Not shown | Free (basic): freeStandard: not in US$Enhanced: not in US$Professional: not in US$ |
| Runs on | web, app, API | Not stated |
| Latest update | DeepSeek-V4.1-Flash-1017: Wish-Driven Programming Made Real, Oct 17, 2026 | ByteDance rolls out paid subscriptions for China's largest AI chatbot (AFP), Jun 25, 2026 |
| Its terms | “To improve and develop the Services and to train and improve our technology, such as our machine learning models and algorithms.”What it does with your data · DeepSeek Privacy Policy | — |
| Disputes | None on file | None on file |
| Sources | Prices, Oct 20, 2026 · Description · company-reported | Prices, May 5, 2026 · Description · news-reported |
More comparisons
