Monday, October 26, 2026 · Edition updated 6:00 AM ETMON, OCT 26 editionNext edition in Next in --:--:--
Intelligence Verdict
AI tools · Everyday assistants

Doubao

“While Doubao's basic version will remain free to meet users' simple needs” ByteDance, in its own words

  • Yesfree plan
  • —paid price not shown in US dollars
  • —platforms not stated
The facts

Doubao at a glance.

From ByteDance's own pages, read Oct 20, 2026, with news reporting where the maker says nothing. Prices can change at any time; check the maker's page before you pay.

Made by
ByteDanceBased in China
What it is for
Everyday assistantsGeneral chat assistants for everyday questions.
Free plan
YesAFP (2026-06-25): "Free users will be able to use basic search functions, but face limits in video and image generation."
Runs on
Not stated
Website
doubao.com
Plans and prices
PlanA monthWhat it includes
Free (basic)FreeBasic version stays free.
StandardNot in US$Caixin: "a standard version priced at 68 yuan ($10) per month" (CNY; Caixin's USD conversion).
EnhancedNot in US$Caixin: "an enhanced version available at 200 yuan per month".
ProfessionalNot in US$Caixin: "a professional version that costs 500 yuan per month".

Caixin Global, May 5, 2026 · company-reported

Our note: News-reported, not from ByteDance's own pages. Caixin's May 5 report described planned prices; AFP (June 25) reported the rollout but gave no prices, so the yuan prices may have changed. AFP: "Doubao has grown to more than 300 million monthly active users since launching in 2023." Doubao URL and data policy not fetched.