In short
How they differ.
Worked out from the makers' own pages, read Oct 20, 2026. Prices change; check before you pay.
- Both have a free plan.
- Muse also has a web and phone app.
- Muse shipped an update more recently (Sep 8, 2026).
Side by side
The details.
| Doubao | Muse | |
|---|---|---|
| Made by | ByteDance · China | Meta · United States |
| What it says it is | “While Doubao's basic version will remain free to meet users' simple needs” | “Muse is a secure, private personal AI agent that proactively helps people meet their goals and suggests ideas.” |
| Free plan | YesAFP (2026-06-25): "Free users will be able to use basic search functions, but face limits in video and image generation." | Yes"It's free for most of what people need, with subscription plans for people who want to do more." Limits not stated. |
| Plans | Free (basic): freeStandard: not in US$Enhanced: not in US$Professional: not in US$ | Free: freeSubscription plans: not in US$ |
| Runs on | Not stated | iOS, Android, web (muse.ai), WhatsApp |
| Latest update | ByteDance rolls out paid subscriptions for China's largest AI chatbot (AFP), Jun 25, 2026 | Introducing Muse: The World’s First Personal AI Agent Built for Everyone, Sep 8, 2026 |
| Its terms | — | “You decide whether we can use your interactions with Muse to develop and improve our AI models.”What it does with your data · Meta Help Center: How Muse handles your privacy, safety and security |
| Disputes | None on file | None on file |
| Sources | Prices, May 5, 2026 · Description · news-reported | Prices, Sep 8, 2026 · Description · company-reported |
More comparisons
