In short
How they differ.
Worked out from the makers' own pages, read Oct 20, 2026. Prices change; check before you pay.
- Only Doubao has a free plan.
- Kimi also has a web.
Side by side
The details.
| Doubao | Kimi | |
|---|---|---|
| Made by | ByteDance · China | Moonshot AI · China |
| What it says it is | “While Doubao's basic version will remain free to meet users' simple needs” | “Kimi AI with K3 | Built for Agentic Coding & Knowledge Work” |
| Free plan | YesAFP (2026-06-25): "Free users will be able to use basic search functions, but face limits in video and image generation." | Not statedKimi's membership pages describe only paid tiers; terms say "You may access the Services without creating an account, but certain features may require you to create an account." A free tier and its limits were not confirmed. |
| Plans | Free (basic): freeStandard: not in US$Enhanced: not in US$Professional: not in US$ | Go: not in US$Plus: not in US$Pro: not in US$Max: not in US$Ultra: not in US$ |
| Runs on | Not stated | web, apps, browser extension |
| Latest update | ByteDance rolls out paid subscriptions for China's largest AI chatbot (AFP), Jun 25, 2026 | — |
| Its terms | — | “the platform may use users' input data, instructions, and generated responses for model training”What it does with your data · Kimi Help Center: Data Usage and Sharing |
| Disputes | None on file | None on file |
| Sources | Prices, May 5, 2026 · Description · news-reported | Prices, Oct 19, 2026 · Description · company-reported |
More comparisons
