In short
How they differ.
Worked out from the makers' own pages, read Oct 20, 2026. Prices change; check before you pay.
- Both run on the same kinds of device (web).
Side by side
The details.
| DeepSeek | Kimi | |
|---|---|---|
| Made by | DeepSeek · China | Moonshot AI · China |
| What it says it is | “Now live on our website, app, and API.” | “Kimi AI with K3 | Built for Agentic Coding & Knowledge Work” |
| Free plan | Not statedNot verified: DeepSeek pages read did not state whether the chat app is free or list consumer prices. | Not statedKimi's membership pages describe only paid tiers; terms say "You may access the Services without creating an account, but certain features may require you to create an account." A free tier and its limits were not confirmed. |
| Plans | Not shown | Go: not in US$Plus: not in US$Pro: not in US$Max: not in US$Ultra: not in US$ |
| Runs on | web, app, API | web, apps, browser extension |
| Latest update | DeepSeek-V4.1-Flash-1017: Wish-Driven Programming Made Real, Oct 17, 2026 | — |
| Its terms | “To improve and develop the Services and to train and improve our technology, such as our machine learning models and algorithms.”What it does with your data · DeepSeek Privacy Policy | “the platform may use users' input data, instructions, and generated responses for model training”What it does with your data · Kimi Help Center: Data Usage and Sharing |
| Disputes | None on file | None on file |
| Sources | Prices, Oct 20, 2026 · Description · company-reported | Prices, Oct 19, 2026 · Description · company-reported |
More comparisons
