Tuesday, October 27, 2026 · Edition updated 6:00 AM ETTUE, OCT 27 editionNext edition in Next in --:--:--
Intelligence Verdict
AI tools · Everyday assistants

DeepSeek

“Now live on our website, app, and API.” DeepSeek, in its own words

  • Not statedfree plan
  • —paid price not shown in US dollars
  • 1place it runs: web
The facts

DeepSeek at a glance.

From DeepSeek's own pages, read Oct 20, 2026. Prices can change at any time; check the maker's page before you pay.

Made by
DeepSeekBased in China
What it is for
Everyday assistantsGeneral chat assistants for everyday questions.
Free plan
Not statedNot verified: DeepSeek pages read did not state whether the chat app is free or list consumer prices.
Runs on
web, app, API
Plans and prices

DeepSeek doesn't show its prices in a form we could read. Check its website.

Read the small print

What its terms say.

Copied word for word from the maker's terms, with any lawsuits or complaints and their status when we last checked.

What it does with your data
“To improve and develop the Services and to train and improve our technology, such as our machine learning models and algorithms.”
DeepSeek Privacy Policy, Feb 10, 2026

Our note: Policy lists "the right to opt-out of using your Personal Data for training our models or optimizing our technologies." and says data is stored "in People's Republic of China." The 'what' quote is about the new model's availability, not a product description; DeepSeek's homepage tagline is "Into the Unknown".