In short
How they differ.
Worked out from the makers' own pages, read Oct 20, 2026. Prices change; check before you pay.
- Only Microsoft Copilot has a free plan.
- Microsoft Copilot also has a phone app and computer app.
- DeepSeek shipped an update more recently (Oct 17, 2026).
Side by side
The details.
| DeepSeek | Microsoft Copilot | |
|---|---|---|
| Made by | DeepSeek · China | Microsoft · United States |
| What it says it is | “Now live on our website, app, and API.” | “Copilot is the AI for work, helping you create, research, analyze, and get things done in the Microsoft 365 apps you use every day.1” |
| Free plan | Not statedNot verified: DeepSeek pages read did not state whether the chat app is free or list consumer prices. | Yes"Limited usage with a free Microsoft account"; Microsoft 365 plans give "higher usage than free" or "extensive usage". |
| Plans | Not shown | Free (Microsoft account): freeMicrosoft 365 Personal: $9.99 a monthMicrosoft 365 Family: $12.99 a monthMicrosoft 365 Premium: $19.99 a month |
| Runs on | web, app, API | web, desktop, mobile |
| Latest update | DeepSeek-V4.1-Flash-1017: Wish-Driven Programming Made Real, Oct 17, 2026 | Updated Microsoft Copilot app for web, desktop, and mobile available, Aug 18, 2026 |
| Its terms | “To improve and develop the Services and to train and improve our technology, such as our machine learning models and algorithms.”What it does with your data · DeepSeek Privacy Policy | “If you are logged into Copilot with a Microsoft Account or other third-party authentication, you can control whether your conversation activity is used for training Microsoft's generative AI models.”What it does with your data · Microsoft Support: Privacy FAQ for Microsoft Copilot |
| Disputes | None on file | None on file |
| Sources | Prices, Oct 20, 2026 · Description · company-reported | Prices, Oct 20, 2026 · Description · company-reported |
More comparisons
