In short
How they differ.
Worked out from the makers' own pages, read Oct 20, 2026. Prices change; check before you pay.
- Only Grok has a free plan.
- Grok also has a phone app.
- DeepSeek shipped an update more recently (Oct 17, 2026).
Side by side
The details.
| DeepSeek | Grok | |
|---|---|---|
| Made by | DeepSeek · China | SpaceXSI (name shown on x.ai) · United States |
| What it says it is | “Now live on our website, app, and API.” | “SpaceXSI builds Grok, an AI chatbot with voice chat, image and video generation, real-time search, and advanced reasoning.” |
| Free plan | Not statedNot verified: DeepSeek pages read did not state whether the chat app is free or list consumer prices. | YesFree: "Limited Chat requests" and "Limited agent requests". |
| Plans | Not shown | Free: freePlus: $8 a monthPremium: $30 a monthSuper: $100 a monthUltra: $200 a month |
| Runs on | web, app, API | web (grok.com), mobile app, X |
| Latest update | DeepSeek-V4.1-Flash-1017: Wish-Driven Programming Made Real, Oct 17, 2026 | Introducing Grok Voice 3.0, Oct 14, 2026 |
| Its terms | “To improve and develop the Services and to train and improve our technology, such as our machine learning models and algorithms.”What it does with your data · DeepSeek Privacy Policy | “You control whether your data is used for training Grok.”What it does with your data · xAI Consumer FAQs |
| Disputes | None on file | None on file |
| Sources | Prices, Oct 20, 2026 · Description · company-reported | Prices, Oct 20, 2026 · Description · company-reported |
More comparisons
