In short
How they differ.
Worked out from the makers' own pages, read Oct 20, 2026. Prices change; check before you pay.
- Both have a free plan.
- Gemini also has a web and phone app and computer app.
- Gemini shipped an update more recently (Oct 13, 2026).
Side by side
The details.
| Doubao | Gemini | |
|---|---|---|
| Made by | ByteDance · China | Google · United States |
| What it says it is | “While Doubao's basic version will remain free to meet users' simple needs” | “more access to our most capable models, like 3.1 Pro, and powerful features, like Deep Research.” |
| Free plan | YesAFP (2026-06-25): "Free users will be able to use basic search functions, but face limits in video and image generation." | YesFree: "Access to our Flash-Lite model."; limits not stated in numbers. Footnote: "Your limit refreshes every 5 hours until you reach your weekly limit." |
| Plans | Free (basic): freeStandard: not in US$Enhanced: not in US$Professional: not in US$ | Free: freeGoogle AI Plus: $4.99 a monthGoogle AI Pro: $19.99 a monthGoogle AI Ultra: $99.99 a month |
| Runs on | Not stated | web, mobile, Windows, macOS |
| Latest update | ByteDance rolls out paid subscriptions for China's largest AI chatbot (AFP), Jun 25, 2026 | Introducing Gemini 4 Argon: our frontier model for complex tasks, Oct 13, 2026 |
| Its terms | — | “Google uses your activity to provide, develop, and improve its services (including training generative AI models)”What it does with your data · Gemini Apps Privacy Hub |
| Disputes | None on file | None on file |
| Sources | Prices, May 5, 2026 · Description · news-reported | Prices, Oct 20, 2026 · Description · company-reported |
More comparisons
