In short
How they differ.
Worked out from the makers' own pages, read Oct 20, 2026. Prices change; check before you pay.
- Claude learning mode's cheapest paid plan is cheaper: $20 a month against $29.99.
- Claude learning mode also has a web; Duolingo Max also has a phone app.
Side by side
The details.
| Claude learning mode | Duolingo Max | |
|---|---|---|
| Made by | Anthropic | Duolingo |
| What it says it is | “A new Claude experience that guides students' reasoning process rather than providing answers” | “Roleplay allows learners to practice real-world conversation skills with world characters in the app.” |
| Free plan | Not statedAt launch, part of Claude for Education through campus agreements. | Not stated |
| Plans | Pro: $20 a monthMax: $100 a month | Max: $29.99 a month |
| Runs on | web | iOS, Android |
| Latest update | — | — |
| Its terms | — | — |
| Disputes | None on file | None on file |
| Sources | Prices, Oct 20, 2026 · Description · company-reported | Prices, Mar 14, 2023 · Description · company-reported |
More comparisons
