Tuesday, October 27, 2026 · Edition updated 6:00 AM ETTUE, OCT 27 editionNext edition in Next in --:--:--
Intelligence Verdict
AI tools · Learning and homework help

Duolingo Max

“Roleplay allows learners to practice real-world conversation skills with world characters in the app.” Duolingo, in its own words

  • Not statedfree plan
  • $29.99a month, cheapest paid plan
  • 1place it runs: phone app
The facts

Duolingo Max at a glance.

From Duolingo's own pages, read Oct 20, 2026. Prices can change at any time; check the maker's page before you pay.

Made by
Duolingo
What it is for
Learning and homework helpTutors, homework help and study modes.
Free plan
Not stated
Runs on
iOS, Android
Plans and prices
PlanA monthWhat it includes
Max$29.99'$29.99 per month or $167.99 per year' at launch (TechCrunch, 2023-03-14; old, may have changed).

TechCrunch: Duolingo launches new subscription tier with access to AI tutor powered by GPT-4, Mar 14, 2023 · company-reported

Our note: Duolingo: 'Duolingo Max is available in 188 countries for both iOS and Android devices.' The price is from 2023 and needs a current check.

Independent evidence

What tests of tools like this have found.

OpenAI
“some inconsistent behavior and mistakes across conversations.”

OpenAI, Jul 29, 2025