Monday, October 26, 2026 · Edition updated 6:00 AM ETMON, OCT 26 editionNext edition in Next in --:--:--
Intelligence Verdict
Compare AI tools · Deep research and AI search

ChatGPT deep research vs DeepSeek

Two deep research and ai search tools side by side. Answers from the web, with the sources linked. What each costs, where it runs, what it shipped last, and what its terms say.

  • $8a month, ChatGPT deep research's cheapest paid plan
  • —a month, DeepSeek's cheapest paid plan
In short

How they differ.

Worked out from the makers' own pages, read Oct 20, 2026. Prices change; check before you pay.

  • Only ChatGPT deep research has a free plan.
  • ChatGPT deep research also has a phone app and computer app.
Side by side

The details.

ChatGPT deep researchDeepSeek
Made byOpenAI · United StatesDeepSeek · China
What it says it is“Deep research helps you accomplish complex online tasks by reasoning, researching, and synthesizing information”“Now live on our website, app, and API.”
Free planYesPricing page lists "Limited deep research" on Free and Go; Plus "Expanded deep research"; Pro "Maximum deep research". Help center: "Deep research usage varies by plan." Exact task counts not published on the pages read.Not statedNot verified from a fetched page (see unverified). DeepSeek's own pages read did not state prices or a free/paid split.
PlansFree: freeGo: $8 a monthPlus: $20 a monthPro: $100 a monthBusiness: $25 a monthNot shown
Runs onweb, desktop, mobileweb, app, API
Latest update—DeepSeek-V4.1-Flash-1017: Wish-Driven Programming Made Real, Oct 17, 2026
Its terms“When you use our services for individuals (Free, Plus, Pro), we may use your content to train our models.”What it does with your data · OpenAI Help Center: How your data is used to improve model performance“To provide you with our services, we directly collect, process and store your Personal Data in People's Republic of China.”What it does with your data · DeepSeek Privacy Policy
DisputesNone on fileNone on file
SourcesPrices, Oct 20, 2026 · Description · company-reportedPrices, Oct 20, 2026 · Description · company-reported