Monday, October 26, 2026 · Edition updated 6:00 AM ETMON, OCT 26 editionNext edition in Next in --:--:--
Intelligence Verdict
Compare AI tools · Deep research and AI search

Gemini Deep Research vs Perplexity

Two deep research and ai search tools side by side. Answers from the web, with the sources linked. What each costs, where it runs, what it shipped last, and what its terms say.

  • $4.99a month, Gemini Deep Research's cheapest paid plan
  • $10a month, Perplexity's cheapest paid plan
In short

How they differ.

Worked out from the makers' own pages, read Oct 20, 2026. Prices change; check before you pay.

  • Both have a free plan.
  • Gemini Deep Research's cheapest paid plan is cheaper: $4.99 a month against $10.
  • Gemini Deep Research also has a web and phone app and computer app.
Side by side

The details.

Gemini Deep ResearchPerplexity
Made byGoogle · United StatesPerplexity AI · United States
What it says it is“Save hours of work with Deep Research as your personal research assistant.”“Perplexity Pro unlocks more ways to learn and get work done.”
Free planYesDeep Research is listed among free Gemini features; free usage limits are not stated in numbers. Paid plans give "higher usage limits".YesFree (Standard): Pro Searches "3/day", Research Queries "1/month", "Practically unlimited basic searches".
PlansFree: freeGoogle AI Plus: $4.99 a monthGoogle AI Pro: $19.99 a monthGoogle AI Ultra: $99.99 a monthStandard (Free): freePro: not in US$Max: $200 a monthEducation Pro: $10 a monthEnterprise Pro: $40 a month
Runs onweb, mobile, desktop (Windows, macOS apps)Not stated
Latest update—Ultrafast Computer models, Decisions API, and connector controls, Oct 19, 2026
Its terms“Google uses your activity to provide, develop, and improve its services (including training generative AI models)”What it does with your data · Gemini Apps Privacy Hub“Some data may be used to train AI models and improve search quality, unless you opt out through Account Settings”What it does with your data · Perplexity Help Center: Data Collection at Perplexity
DisputesNone on fileNone on file
SourcesPrices, Oct 20, 2026 · Description · company-reportedPrices, Oct 20, 2026 · Description · company-reported