In short
How they differ.
Worked out from the makers' own pages, read Oct 20, 2026. Prices change; check before you pay.
- Only Gemini Deep Research has a free plan.
- Gemini Deep Research also has a phone app and computer app.
Side by side
The details.
| DeepSeek | Gemini Deep Research | |
|---|---|---|
| Made by | DeepSeek · China | Google · United States |
| What it says it is | “Now live on our website, app, and API.” | “Save hours of work with Deep Research as your personal research assistant.” |
| Free plan | Not statedNot verified from a fetched page (see unverified). DeepSeek's own pages read did not state prices or a free/paid split. | YesDeep Research is listed among free Gemini features; free usage limits are not stated in numbers. Paid plans give "higher usage limits". |
| Plans | Not shown | Free: freeGoogle AI Plus: $4.99 a monthGoogle AI Pro: $19.99 a monthGoogle AI Ultra: $99.99 a month |
| Runs on | web, app, API | web, mobile, desktop (Windows, macOS apps) |
| Latest update | DeepSeek-V4.1-Flash-1017: Wish-Driven Programming Made Real, Oct 17, 2026 | — |
| Its terms | “To provide you with our services, we directly collect, process and store your Personal Data in People's Republic of China.”What it does with your data · DeepSeek Privacy Policy | “Google uses your activity to provide, develop, and improve its services (including training generative AI models)”What it does with your data · Gemini Apps Privacy Hub |
| Disputes | None on file | None on file |
| Sources | Prices, Oct 20, 2026 · Description · company-reported | Prices, Oct 20, 2026 · Description · company-reported |
More comparisons
