In short
How they differ.
Worked out from the makers' own pages, read Oct 20, 2026. Prices change; check before you pay.
- Only Gemini Notebook has a free plan.
- Gemini Notebook also has a phone app.
- DeepSeek shipped an update more recently (Oct 17, 2026).
Side by side
The details.
| DeepSeek | Gemini Notebook | |
|---|---|---|
| Made by | DeepSeek · China | Google · United States |
| What it says it is | “Now live on our website, app, and API.” | “We're renaming NotebookLM to Gemini Notebook.” |
| Free plan | Not statedNot verified from a fetched page (see unverified). DeepSeek's own pages read did not state prices or a free/paid split. | YesStandard (free): Notebooks "100/user", Sources "50/notebook". |
| Plans | Not shown | Standard (free): freeGoogle AI Plus: $4.99 a monthGoogle AI Pro: $19.99 a monthGoogle AI Ultra: $99.99 a monthGoogle Workspace: not in US$ |
| Runs on | web, app, API | web, Android, iOS |
| Latest update | DeepSeek-V4.1-Flash-1017: Wish-Driven Programming Made Real, Oct 17, 2026 | NotebookLM is now Gemini Notebook, Jul 16, 2026 |
| Its terms | “To provide you with our services, we directly collect, process and store your Personal Data in People's Republic of China.”What it does with your data · DeepSeek Privacy Policy | “The content in Gemini Notebook will not be used to directly train our foundational AI models, unless you choose to provide feedback.”What it does with your data · Gemini Notebook Help: Privacy and Terms of Use in Gemini Notebook |
| Disputes | None on file | None on file |
| Sources | Prices, Oct 20, 2026 · Description · company-reported | Prices, Oct 20, 2026 · Description · company-reported |
More comparisons
