Monday, October 26, 2026 · Edition updated 6:00 AM ETMON, OCT 26 editionNext edition in Next in --:--:--
Intelligence Verdict
Compare AI tools · Deep research and AI search

DeepSeek vs Microsoft Copilot

Two deep research and ai search tools side by side. Answers from the web, with the sources linked. What each costs, where it runs, what it shipped last, and what its terms say.

  • —a month, DeepSeek's cheapest paid plan
  • $9.99a month, Microsoft Copilot's cheapest paid plan
In short

How they differ.

Worked out from the makers' own pages, read Oct 20, 2026. Prices change; check before you pay.

  • Only Microsoft Copilot has a free plan.
  • Microsoft Copilot also has a phone app and computer app.
Side by side

The details.

DeepSeekMicrosoft Copilot
Made byDeepSeek · ChinaMicrosoft · United States
What it says it is“Now live on our website, app, and API.”“Agentic AI features that get things done for you, including advanced research and analytics1”
Free planNot statedNot verified from a fetched page (see unverified). DeepSeek's own pages read did not state prices or a free/paid split.YesFree Microsoft account: "Limited usage with a free Microsoft account". Advanced research is listed on Microsoft 365 Premium.
PlansNot shownFree (Microsoft account): freeMicrosoft 365 Personal: $9.99 a monthMicrosoft 365 Family: $12.99 a monthMicrosoft 365 Premium: $19.99 a month
Runs onweb, app, APIweb, Windows, macOS, iOS, Android
Latest updateDeepSeek-V4.1-Flash-1017: Wish-Driven Programming Made Real, Oct 17, 2026—
Its terms“To provide you with our services, we directly collect, process and store your Personal Data in People's Republic of China.”What it does with your data · DeepSeek Privacy Policy“If you are logged into Copilot with a Microsoft Account or other third-party authentication, you can control whether your conversation activity is used for training Microsoft's generative AI models.”What it does with your data · Microsoft Support: Privacy FAQ for Microsoft Copilot
DisputesNone on fileNone on file
SourcesPrices, Oct 20, 2026 · Description · company-reportedPrices, Oct 20, 2026 · Description · company-reported