Monday, October 26, 2026 · Edition updated 6:00 AM ETMON, OCT 26 editionNext edition in Next in --:--:--
Intelligence Verdict
Compare AI tools · Deep research and AI search

DeepSeek vs Perplexity

Two deep research and ai search tools side by side. Answers from the web, with the sources linked. What each costs, where it runs, what it shipped last, and what its terms say.

  • —a month, DeepSeek's cheapest paid plan
  • $10a month, Perplexity's cheapest paid plan
In short

How they differ.

Worked out from the makers' own pages, read Oct 20, 2026. Prices change; check before you pay.

  • Only Perplexity has a free plan.
  • DeepSeek also has a web.
  • Perplexity shipped an update more recently (Oct 19, 2026).
Side by side

The details.

DeepSeekPerplexity
Made byDeepSeek · ChinaPerplexity AI · United States
What it says it is“Now live on our website, app, and API.”“Perplexity Pro unlocks more ways to learn and get work done.”
Free planNot statedNot verified from a fetched page (see unverified). DeepSeek's own pages read did not state prices or a free/paid split.YesFree (Standard): Pro Searches "3/day", Research Queries "1/month", "Practically unlimited basic searches".
PlansNot shownStandard (Free): freePro: not in US$Max: $200 a monthEducation Pro: $10 a monthEnterprise Pro: $40 a month
Runs onweb, app, APINot stated
Latest updateDeepSeek-V4.1-Flash-1017: Wish-Driven Programming Made Real, Oct 17, 2026Ultrafast Computer models, Decisions API, and connector controls, Oct 19, 2026
Its terms“To provide you with our services, we directly collect, process and store your Personal Data in People's Republic of China.”What it does with your data · DeepSeek Privacy Policy“Some data may be used to train AI models and improve search quality, unless you opt out through Account Settings”What it does with your data · Perplexity Help Center: Data Collection at Perplexity
DisputesNone on fileNone on file
SourcesPrices, Oct 20, 2026 · Description · company-reportedPrices, Oct 20, 2026 · Description · company-reported